HOME   |   ABOUT   |   FORUM  |   BLOG   |   PODCAST   |   DONATE

Classic Costa (Johnny Costa)

Artist: Johnny Costa
Date: 1991
Format: CD
Label: Chiaroscuro Records
UPC: 091454020522
Purchase/Stream: Amazon


Track List

  1. Holiday For Strings (Rose-Gallop)
  2. Get Happy (Arlen-Koehler)
  3. My Funny Valentine (Rogers-Hart)
  4. Debbie (Costa-McCully)
  5. You Came A Long Way From St. Louis (Russell-Brooks)
  6. Just One Of Those Things (Porter)
  7. The Man I Love (Gershwin-Gershwin)
  8. How High The Moon (Lewis-Hamilton)
  9. It Never Entered My Mind (Rogers-Hart)
  10. At The Darktown Strutters' Ball (Brooks)
  11. They're Not Writing (Costa-Carey)
  12. What Is This Thing Called Love? (Porter)
  13. Stumbling (Confrey)
  14. Stella By Starlight (Young-Washington)
  15. Cherokee (Noble)
  16. Do Nothing 'Till You Hear From Me (Ellington-Russell)
  17. Fascinating Rhythm (Gershwin-Gershwin)
  18. Jazzspeak


This album's liner notes include a tribute written by Fred Rogers

When Johnny Costa was in high school, his Dad gave him a recording of Art Tatum at the piano. After he heard it, Johnny wouldn't touch the piano for six weeks. "I could never play that well," he said. Well, now he does, and it's because he made up his mind to try. Johnny has been committed to music most of his life, and the talent which allows him to dazzle, also allows him to soothe and charm many different audiences.

Adults have come up to me on the streets of many different cities and said, "I listen to your 'Neighborhood' just to hear Johnny Costa play." The people who write to us about Johnny's piano artistry are those who know music and know how special he really is. Classical musicians recognize his classical training and jazz masters know he is authentic. Working with Johnny has been one of the great joys of my life. Ever since I was five years old, I've been writing songs; but not until I met Johnny did those songs ever sound truly wonderful. When I give a melody to Johnny and he seasons it with his special brand of harmonies, I recognize each time what an arrangement can mean to the birth of a song.

To be able to work with someone who cares about what you do and so unselfishly lends his genius to your mutual purposes is a great blessing. Johnny Costa is just that -- a great musical blessing for the very young, the very mature and everyone in between. Johnny Costa is a classic himself...a classic Costa.


Johnny Costa, solo piano. Recorded 18 April, 8 May 1990 and 7 February 1991 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Produced By: Hank O'Neal
Original Recording Supervised By: Bill Hillman & Johnny Costa
Recording: George Heid and Gregg Vizza at Audiomation, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Digital Mastering and Assembly: Jon Bates/Audioforce
Cover Photograph: Bill Hillman
Other Photography and Design: Rollo Phlecks
Liner Notes: Fred Rogers and Dick Hyman

P & C 1991 Chiaroscuro Records

This site is best viewed using the most current version of Google Chrome.
Content copyright © The Fred Rogers Company. Used with permission.
Corner image by Spencer Fruhling. Used with permission.
Do not duplicate or distribute any material from this site without the consent of The Fred Rogers Company.